Downtown Association Of Santa Cruz

The Downtown Association of Santa Cruz manages a ‘Business Improvement District‘ established to promote commerce and provide an environment compatible with doing business. Business operators in the Downtown district contribute an assessment which is allocated by the Downtown Association Board of Directors to further the mission of the Downtown Association. The Board of Directors is comprised of, and elected by, assessed business owners in Downtown Santa Cruz.

The primary function of the Downtown Association is to promote Downtown Santa Cruz.

The Downtown Association also advocates for businesses and serves as a representative with government agencies and other organizations when addressing issues specific or pertinent to the Mission of the Downtown Association.

For Downtown Businesses: Downtown Business Portal

Downtown Association Board of Directors

Board Chair
Valerie Moselle, Luma Yoga

Vice Chair
Cara Pearson, Pacific Cookie Company

Bill Kempf, William C. Kempf, Architect 

Janis Coulter, Cognito Clothing

Marketing Committee Chair
Jennalee Dahlen, Yoso Wellness Spa

Social and Legislative Committee Chair
Linnea Holgers-James*, Artisans & Agency

Nominations Committee Chair
Suna Lock, Stripe and Stripe Men

At-Large Directors
Germaine Akin, 515 Kitchen & Cocktails
Kamala Allison, Fybr Bamboo
Stuyvie Bearns Esteva, Lúpulo Craft Beer House
Patrice Boyle, Soif Wine Bar and Merchant
Emily Coonerty, Dell Williams Jewelers
Shiri Gradek, Sereno Group Realtors
Zach Davis, The Penny Ice Creamery and Snap Taco
David Guzman, David Lyng Real Estate

*inactive temporarily

Downtown Association Staff
Jorian Wilkins, Executive Director
Sonja Brunner, Director of Operations
Shiri Gradek, Marketing Partner

Downtown Association Meetings

The Downtown Association Board of Directors meets every month on the 3rd Tuesday of the month at 8:30 a.m. Board Subcommittees meet between Board sessions, also on Tuesdays at 8:30am. Members are welcome; links to join below.

Upcoming meetings

November 3
Social and Legislative Committee | Outdoor Expansion Areas
Link to join

November 10
Finance Committee | Regular Update
Link to join

November 17
Board of Directors | November Meeting
Link to join

December 1 
Marketing Committee | Holiday Promotions
Link to join

Recent Meeting Minutes
May 2020
June 2020
July 2020
August 2020
September 2020
October 2020

Note: Downtown Association Board Meetings or Subcommittee Meetings do not take place in December.

FY2021 Workplan
FY2021 Budget

Programs of the Downtown Association

Downtown Dollars
Downtown Tuesdays
Information Kiosk
Downtown Ambassador Program
Downtown Marketing
Holiday Events and Marketing